The Poster
ISSN: 20403704
Online ISSN: 20403712
First published in 2010
2 issues per volume
Current Issue:
Volume 3 / Issue 1-2 Free Issue 
Volume 1 | Issue 1 View online
   Submit   

Share this:

ShareMore

Editors

Helena Barbosa
University of Aveiro
helenab@ua.pt

Malcolm Barnard
Loughborough University
m.barnard@lboro.ac.uk

Leong Chan
University of New South Wales
l.chan@unsw.edu.au

Simon Downs
Loughborough University 
s.t.downs@lboro.ac.uk 

Jaime Gomez
Universidad de Guadalajara
jaime.gomez@cuaad.udg.mx

Robert Harland
Loughborough University
r.g.harland@lboro.ac.uk

Bengt Johansson
University of Gothenburg
bengt.johansson@jmg.gu.se

Steven Seidman
Ithaca College
seidman@ithaca.edu

Orla Vigsø
University of Gothenburg
orla.vigso@jmg.gu.se

The poster-maker, the pamphleteer and the tagger aim to sway the popular heart and mind through visual public interventions. As new technologies rise, turning the public sphere into a transparent, ubiquitous communications medium and a global marketplace, is the privileged status of the poster doomed or are we seeing it transformed as part of a new wave of visual rhetoric? When the environment starts to become responsive to our very presence and aware of our individual nature what is the role of the 'traditional poster' delivering a classical rhetorical message? This peer-reviewed journal aims to lead the debate.

The Poster stands as a vehicle for the ideas of media theorists; scholars of Cultural Studies and Cultural Materialism; for social psychologists of visual communication, for architects and designers of wayfinding schemes; for philosophers of Aesthetics and Politics, Society and Linguistics; for social scientists, anthropologists and ethnographers; for political campaigners and artist activists; for communications researchers and visual communications practitioners.

Abstracting and Indexing

Art & Architecture Complete; Art & Architecture Index; ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM); Arts: Search; British Humanities Index; TOC Premier;  Ulrich's

Download the submission guidelines.

Your browser must accept cookies to view the free issue.

Subscribers and pay per view


Lockss SERU Cross Ref
Browzine
Tags:
Your tags: Please login or register if you don't have a user account.
Latest news
16th August 2016
Smart Cities Week, 27th-29th September Washington D.C
Read more Read more
16th August 2016
Interview with Craig McDaniel and Jean Robertson from Spellbound
Read more Read more
10th August 2016
Free extract from Precarious Spaces
Read more Read more
The Big Picture Magazine