News  
Call for Papers: Game Sound & Music

The Soundtrack journal is soliciting articles for a special issue devoted to sound and music in games. How is the soundtrack of games similar to or different from that of film or other time-based image? What new approaches to loop-based composition have been developed? How does sound scale, from smart phone game apps to immersive home environments? What are the implications for pedagogy, when sound design programs have traditionally been developed in relation to film and video? These and other questions are fair game for this special themed issue.

Read more Posted by Jelena at 13:35 (0) comments
New 2014 Journals
Intellect is delighted to announce our 2014 journals.
 
International Journal of Fashion Studies
 
By opening up the field of fashion studies to international non-English speakers the journal will not only shed new light on some existing key themes of debate but it will also bring to the fore topics and issues heretofore unattended.
 
 
Critical Studies in Men’s Fashion
 
This journal is the first to exclusively focus on men’s dress and topics of gender; identity, sexuality, culture, marketing and business will be discussed.
 
 
Clothing Cultures
 
We are all invested at some level in the production and consumption of clothing. This journal intends to embrace issues and themes that are both universal and personal, addressing [and dressing] us all.
 
 
Fashion, Style & Popular Culture
 
Edited by Joseph H. Hancock II the journal will provide an interdisciplinary environment for fashion academics and practitioners to publish innovative scholarship in all aspects of fashion and popular culture.
 
 
Journal of Illustration
 
This is the first journal to provide an international forum for scholarly research and investigation of a range of cultural, political, philosophical, historical, and contemporary issues, in relation to illustration.
 
 
Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art
 
Edited by Paul Gladston the journal seeks to explore the relationship between contemporary art and Chinese cultural identity in its broadest sense.
 
 
Dance, Movement & Spiritualties
 
Research into spirituality receives comparatively little attention in Western dance practices. This journal provides a platform for practitioners and researchers who are actively working with spirituality at the centre of their work.
 
 
Journal of Urban Cultural Studies
 
The journal aims to achieve some balance between discussing an individual cultural/artistic product(s) and using one of many social-science urban approaches.
 

http://www.intellectbooks.co.uk/journals/view-Journal,id=225/

Read more Posted by Jessica Pennock at 16:46 (0) comments
EXTENDED CFP: The Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand (popcaanz)
DEADLINE: Tuesday 30 April 2013

The Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand
(popcaanz) is hosting its 4th Annual International Conference to be
held at the Sofitel Hotel in Brisbane Australia on June 24-26, 2013.
Individual and group papers that explore all aspects of popular culture
and the everyday are invited. Please send a short biography and
abstract (no more than 200 words) to the area chairs listed below.
 

Animation: Deborah Szapiro: animation@popcaanz.com
Anime and Manga: Craig Norris: anime@popcaanz.com
Architecture: Derham Groves: architecture@popcaanz.com
Biography and Life Writing: Giselle Bastin: biography@popcaanz.com
Business: business@popcaanz.com
Creative Writing: Karen Simpson Nikakis: writing@popcaanz.com
Cyber Culture: John Lenarcic: cyber@popcaanz.com
Design: Jacquie Kasunic: design@popcaanz.com
Fashion: Vicki Karaminas: fashion@popcaanz.com
Fiction: Rachel Franks: fiction@popcaanz.com
Film: Bruce Isaacs: film@popcaanz.com
Food Studies: Toni Risson: food@popcaanz.com
Gender and Queer: Anita Brady: gender@popcaanz.com
Girlhood Studies: Juliette Peers: girlhood@popcaanz.com
Gothic: Lorna Piatti-Farnell: gothic@popcaanz.com
Graphic Novels and Comics: Paul Mountfort: comics@popcaanz.com
History: Hsu-Ming Teo: history@popcaanz.com
Law: Jason Bainbridge: law@popcaanz.com
Music: Ed Montano: music@popcaanz.com
Performance: Sue Osmond: performance@popcaanz.com
Radio and Audio Media: Martin Hadlow: radio@popcaanz.com
Religion: Sean Durbin: religion@popcaanz.com
Science: Bill Lott: science@popcaanz.com
Sound, Voices and the Everyday: Norie Neumark:
voices@popcaanz.com
Sports: sports@popcaanz.com
Television: Rosser Johnson: tv@popcaanz.com
Textiles: Denise Rall: textiles@popcaanz.com
Toys and Games: Jason Bainbridge: toys@popcaanz.com
Visual Arts: Adam Geczy: visualarts@popcaanz.com

Read more Posted by James Campbell at 11:13 (0) comments