Latest books 
Invisible Country
Four Polish Plays
Now Available
Price £21.50, $28.50
Purchase this book
ISBN 9781841504148
Paperback 200 pages
Published December 2012
Imprint: Intellect
   Buy EPUB   

Books by Teresa Murjas
Books in Performing Arts
Other books in this series

Edited by Teresa Murjas
Reviews     |      Comments

The late nineteenth and early twentieth century marked a tumultuous period in Poland’s history with artists and writers working under difficult socio-political conditions. Well chosen and carefully annotated, these translations provide important insight into this under-explored area of Polish dramatic history and practice and facilitate greater understanding of its role in the development of European theatre.

Invisible Country: Four Polish Plays is the latest addition to Intellect's critically-acclaimed Playtext series and contains the first English-language translations of Snow by Stanislaw Przybyszewski, In a Small House by Tadeusz Rittner, Ashanti by Włodzimierz Perzyński and All the Same by Leopold Staff.

To read the review in World Literature Today click here to download the pdf.

Part of the Playtext series
'This collection marks a unique effort to characterize the fragile identity of Poland through theatre.' – World Literature Today

'In the end, she aims to achieve translations that stand at the intersection of linguistic and cultural faithfulness to the original with cultural accessibility for a twenty-first-century audience.' – Slavic and East European Journal

Your tags: Please login or register if you don't have a user account.
Powered by Google
World Cinema Directory