News  
New title announcement: Studies in Comics

The journal aims to describe the nature of comics, to identify the medium as a distinct art form, and to address the medium's formal properties. The emerging field of comics studies is a model for interdisciplinary research and in this spirit this journal welcomes all approaches. Peer-reviewed and international in scope Studies in Comics provides an inclusive space in which researchers from all backgrounds can present new thinking on comics to a global audience. The journal will promote the close analysis of texts using a variety of different methodologies. Its specific goal, however, is to expand the relationship between comics and theory and to explore a range of perspectives and approaches that aim to reveal and articulate a "theory of comics". The journal also contains reviews of new comics, criticism, and exhibitions, and will offer space for cutting-edge and emergent creative work.

Issue 1 includes articles by John A. Lent ('The winding pot-holed road of comic art scholarship'), Stuart Medley ('Discerning pictures: how we look at and understand images in comics') and Paul Atkinson ('The graphic novel as metafiction'), there is also an interview with "Renaissance man" Harry Morgan as well as a plethora of reviews.

For more information please visit the journal's page. Alternatively contact James Campbell.


EXPLORE THE FIRST ISSUE FOR FREE ONLINE.

Journal details

Editors
Julia Round
Bournemouth University
jround@bournemouth.ac.uk

Chris Murray
University of Dundee
c.murray@dundee.ac.uk

Associate Editors
Dean Chan
Edith Cowan University
d.chan@ecu.edu.au

M. Thomas Inge
Randolph-Macon College
tinge@rmc.edu

Consulting Editor
Roger Sabin
Central Saint Martins College
r.sabin@csm.arts.ac.uk

Reviews and Exhibitions Editor
Paul Gravett
paul@paulgravett.com

Creative Submissions Editor
Doug Noble
douglasnoble@btopenworld.com

ISSN 20403232
First published in 2010
2 issues per volume
Current Issue:
Volume 1 / Issue 1

Posted by James Campbell at 10:43 (0) comments
Share this:   ShareMore
Tags:
Your tags: Please login or register if you don't have a user account.
0 comments:
Post a comment