News  
Directory of World Cinema: Editor Contacts

We are pleased to announce the following editorial contacts for forthcoming volumes of the Directory of World Cinema. If you would like to contribute to a volume, please get in touch with the relevant editor.

Africa
Blandine Stefanson
blandine.stefanson@adelaide.edu.au

American – Hollywood
Lincoln Geraghty
Lincoln.Geraghty@port.ac.uk

American – Independent
John Berra
John.berra@gmail.com

Australia/New Zealand
Ben Goldsmith
Goldsmith.ben@gmail.com
Geoff Lealand
lealand@waikato.ac.nz

China
Gary Bettinson
g.bettinson@lancaster.ac.uk

Eastern Europe

Adam Bingham
a.r.bingham@sheffield.ac.uk


France
Tim Palmer
palmert@uncw.edu
Charlie Michael
camichael@wisc.edu

Germany
Michelle Langford
m.langford@unsw.edu.au

Great Britain
Neil Mitchell
neil.mitch1972@googlemail.com
Emma Bell
E.J.Bell@brighton.ac.uk

India
Adam Bingham
a.r.bingham@sheffield.ac.uk
Mark Cousins
mark-cousins@btconnect.com

Iran
Parviz Jahed
parvizjahed@yahoo.com

Italy
Louis Bayman
popitalcinema@kcl.ac.uk

Japan
John Berra
John.berra@gmail.com

Korea
Colette Balmain
BalmaColet@aol.com


Russia
Birgit Beumers
Birgit.beumers@bris.ac.uk

Spain
Lorenzo Javier Torres Hortelano
lorenzojavier.torres.hortelano@urjc.es

Sweden
Marcelline Block
mblock@princeton.edu

Turkey
Eylem Atakav
e.atakav@uea.ac.uk

 

http://www.worldcinemadirectory.org

Read more Posted by May Yao at 16:20 (0) comments
Alfredo Cramerotti will be lecturing about aesthetic journalism

Alfredo Cramerotti, author of Aesthetic Journalism, curator at QUAD, Derby and co-curator Manifesta 8 European Biennial of Contemporary Art (Murcia & Cartagena, Spain, 2010) will be delivering a lecture on the subject of aesthetic journalism at the University of Westminster on Wednesday March 3rd.

Session outline

Part 1- The author will introduce his book Aesthetic Journalism: How to Inform Without Informing (Intellect books, 2009).

http://www.intellectbooks.co.uk/books/view-Book,id=4651/

Part 2- Participants will have opportunity to interact with and discuss the material via the blog An ABC of Aesthetic Journalism produced by Fay Nicolson, an artist that responded to the relationship between artistic practices and journalistic investigation.

Location:

University of Westminster, Harrow Campus, Block A, room A4.4

Watford Road
Harrow HA1 3TP

Find out more about this event...

Read more Posted by James Campbell at 16:13 (0) comments
Call For Papers: Directory of World Cinema: Sweden

Call for Submissions
Directory of World Cinema: Sweden
Edited by Marcelline Block, marcelline@post.harvard.edu

We are seeking contributors for the Directory of World Cinema, Sweden.
This Directory, published by Intellect, is slated to be a wide-ranging
and authoritative resource for scholars as well as students of literature and film. The Directory will be published in both print and online formats, with the edited print volume for Sweden to be published by the end of 2011, and every other year from then on.

This volume sets out to provide critical insight to Swedish films
since the inception of this genre over a century ago through film
reviews, essays considering major elements of the Swedish film industry, generic trends, reception, and aesthetics as well as studies devoted to specific films, film directors, actors and the “On Location” supplement section (looking at
the way certain places and spaces are portrayed through film as presented in the Intellect journal The Big Picture). By foregrounding academic film at the intersection of history, theory, and analysis, this volume aims to deepen the reader's understanding and appreciation of Swedish cinema.

Contributions assigned at this stage will have an October 1, 2010
submission deadline. To discuss potential contributions, or to send an abstract, please email marcelline@post.harvard.edu.

A list of remaining essay topics still to be assigned is to be provided; proposed topics are to be considered. Contributors are also requested to provide a brief CV.


 

Read more Posted by May Yao at 15:18 (0) comments